Cart 0



(MY MUSIC) STORY SONGS. Throughout the 1950s, 60s and 70s, “Story Songs” weren’t just great music — they helped unite us through our shared culture, history, and personal experiences. From country pop favorites to folk-rock epics, "Story Songs" relate to all our lives. Don McLean’s anthem “American Pie” (the number one hit for a full month in 1972), Bobbie Gentry’s iconic 1967 musical monologue “Ode to Billie Joe” (one of Rolling Stone’s Greatest Songs of All Time) and Harry Chapin’s poignant “Cat’s in The Cradle” are musical tales we all know and love. Hosted by five-time Grammy Award-winning singer B.J. Thomas. This Deluxe Edition includes additional songs not included in the broadcast show.

Track List
1. Sixteen Tons – Tennessee Ernie Ford
2. Tom Dooley – The Kingston Trio
3. Big Bad John – Jimmy Dean
4. El Paso – Marty Robbins
5. Ode To Billie Joe – Bobbie Gentry
6. Harper Valley PTA – Jeannie C. Riley
7. Honey – Bobby Goldsboro
8. The Gambler – Kenny Rogers
9. Coal Miner’s Daughter – Loretta Lynn
10. Wichita Lineman – Glen Campbell
11. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown – Jim Croce
12. The Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald – Gordon Lightfoot
13. Cat’s In The Cradle – Harry Chapin
14. American Pie – Don McLean
15. Rock and Roll Lullaby – B. J. Thomas

*Bonus material (not on Standard DVD):
1. Rock and Roll Lullaby – B. J. Thomas (Extended Version)
2. It’s Only Make Believe – Glen Campbell
3. Scarlet Ribbons – The Browns
4. City Lights – Bill Anderson
5. When I Dream – Crystal Gayle
6. If I Said You Had A Beautiful body, Would You Hold It Against Me – The Bellamy Brothers
7. Redneck Girl – The Bellamy Brothers
8. Yesterday, When I Was Young – Roy Clark

Share this Product

More from this Genre